Neurologist

what happens around us is here

Miley Cyrus Joins Her ‘Hannah Montana the Movie’ Co-Stars to Discuss the Film

Miley Cyrus Hannah Montana the Movie

Miley Cyrus in ‘Hannah Montana the Movie.’

© Disney Enterprises, Inc

Either Miley Cyrus is one of the most grounded young actresses in Hollywood or she’s so talented she can pull off the illusion of having her feet firmly planted on the ground. As the star of one of Disney’s most popular series, Cyrus has become a role model for young girls and one of the most recognizable 16 year olds on the planet. That means Cyrus has a lot to deal with when it comes to the media, paparazzi, and her fans, yet she handles it pretty well.

At the LA press conference for Hannah Montana the Movie, she admitted that sometimes it’s hard for people to remember she’s a real person. “I feel like people forget that sometimes, and forget privacy and respect, and it’s important for you to remember that I am a real person and have feelings and all that crazy stuff. I think this movie is really going to prove that to people. It all is real.”

Joined by her dad and Hannah Montana the Movie co-stars Emily Osment, Lucas Till, and Jason Earles, Miley Cyrus talked about what fans can expect from the movie.

Hannah Montana the Movie Press Conference – Miley Cyrus, Emily Osment, Lucas Till, Jason Earles and Billy Ray Cyrus

For some people, this movie will be the first experience with Hannah Montana. Can you explain how you are Miley Cyrus and Miley Stewart and Hannah Montana on the show and on your CD? What is the difference between each?

Miley Cyrus: “It’s all very confusing. None of it makes sense. The cool thing about the movie is we actually got to take away from the persona a little bit. It’s not so separate. It shows that realistically you’re not going to be able to have this double life and keep them separate as you want and I think it’s really proven that as much as Hannah changes and as much as Miley changes, then again it’s all the same person. But the Hannah life really does start affecting Miley Stewart and is making her the sort of person that she was always so against. The reason that she has this double life was so she could not become that person and not be obsessed with material things and so obsessed with Hollywood and what she’s become and not remember who she is. So I think that I do have a lot going on, but it’s important to bring it back to what’s important and that’s who you are and your friends and your family. And especially throughout the show, me and Emily have been working together for a long time and it shows that your friendship changes as you change and it’s important to [respect] each other.”

Billy Ray, how do you make sure Miley keeps her head about her and behaves and does the dishes?

Billy Ray Cyrus: “I didn’t see her do the dishes… We both love what we do. She loves acting, she loves singing, she loves writing songs. And I think for the most part with Miley, I think it’s staying real and remembering who she is, where she comes from and what she’s all about. That’s part of the magic of this film, that, as my dad told me when I was a little boy, it’s important to always be aware of your current surroundings, where you’re at at any crossroads of life, always be looking forward to the future and knowing where you want to go but most importantly, never forget where you come from. That’s the theme of this movie – getting back to your roots and remembering who you are and why you’re here.”

Any wardrobe malfunctions or bloopers on the set?

Miley Cyrus: “I stayed covered the entire time. Nothing messed up. Nothing happened to me. I don’t know about y’all…”

Jason Earles: “The thing I was most nervous about in the movie was the scene with the ostrich because it’ a six foot tall prehistoric bird with a brain the size of this bottle cap. I knew I was in trouble when the animal handler gave me the leash that was holding the ostrich and said, ‘Don’t pull on that. He doesn’t like it.’ I was like, ‘Please, dear God, don’t let it bite me.’ And the very first day it bit me right in the face. I had the rest of the day to look forward to with the ostrich. But we got some funny stuff out of it.”

Miley Cyrus: “And they used the part where you got bit in the face.”

Jason Earles: “They did?”

Miley Cyrus: “It was funny.”

Miley, have you thought about making a pure country album?

Miley Cyrus: “I would like to do that at some point because that’s where I’m from. And I was really happy to go back to Nashville and write a little more. That song [Climb] was just so important, and it has a little country vibe to it anyway. A lot of those songs do because it went so well with the movie. For the CMAs, it will be cool. We’re doing a couple different performances. I want them all to look different, for them all to have their own fun kind of ways that different people can relate to. It is a song that’s so universal and everyone can relate to. It doesn’t matter what kind of music you like or what kind of person you are or what you’re used to listening to, or whether you know me or not. It doesn’t matter, either way you can be inspired by it. Each way I want to make it relatable to that group, but most of all keep the inspirational part of it, for sure.”

For Emily, there’s so much life imitating art and art imitating life here. How much is Miley different in real life from on screen?

Emily Osment: “That’s a good point because when we made the movie we went back to Franklin, Miley’s hometown, and I got to see her farm and where she grew up. And the movie sort of parallels to that because it’s about her going back home and regaining her roots. So it’s pretty similar.”

Jason Earles: “I think Miley is very similar, at least my relationship with her is very similar in real life to the show. I sort of look at her as an annoying little sister sometimes.”

Miley Cyrus: “That you want to beat.”

Emily Osment: “And do!”

Jason Earles: “It’s always been the same since we started this. She doesn’t really have a filter with what she says.”

Emily Osment: “It’s what makes you very interesting.”

Jason Earles: “What she says is what she actually means.”

Miley Cyrus: “And what I feel and think.”

Jason Earles: “So you always know where you stand with her, and there’s something very charming about being that honest.”

Miley Cyrus: “If you understand me, it’s very cute. It’s adorable. And my parents love it. And my publicist really likes it.”

Miley Cyrus and Lucas Till in ‘Hannah Montana the Movie.’.

Miley Cyrus, Lucas Till in Hannah Montana

© Disney Enterprises, Inc

Hannah Montana the Movie Press Conference – Miley Cyrus, Emily Osment, Lucas Till, Jason Earles and Billy Ray Cyrus

What kind of roles are you looking for after Hannah Montana and what do people offer you now?

Emily Osment: “Every actor wants to sort of hit every sort of angle of art, and I’ve been playing this character for almost four years now, so I think it’s natural for me to want to play something different. I think everybody does.”

Miley Cyrus: “This summer I am working on a movie that Nicholas Sparks wrote for me. And you never really hear that the movie was written before the book. It’s kind of a weird way to do that. But he wrote the movie before he wrote the book, and he wrote it with me in mind. So I’ve always been lucky to play parts that relate to me – and this doesn’t at all. This girl has – I have my issues, but not as bad as this chick so I am happy to play someone who is just kind of out there and not someone that I am like. So I can actually see if I’m a good actress or not, or if I’m just good at playing myself. So I’m going to see how that goes.”

Lucas Till: “Actually, a year ago, the last thing I thought I’d be doing is this right here, the Hannah Montana movie. This is a lot different than what I would normally go for. I definitely want to go for something a little bit more edgy, something a little more that my friends back home can watch. But this is definitely a good movie to be a part of for my family to watch.”

Emily Osment: “I want to be slaughtered or something!”

Miley Cyrus: “Emily wants to be slaughtered! Can we please quote that?”

Emily Osment: “In a movie.”

Lucas Till: “It is a bunch of fun being slaughtered!”

Emily Osment: “I think it would be fun.”

Miley Cyrus: “I want to stay alive in pretty much 90% of my movies. Slaughtering isn’t exactly what I’m going for, but I will play edgy for sure.”

Miley, have you thought about a sequel to this movie yet? And what are your other plans for 2009?

Miley Cyrus: “Hopefully I will just continue to do different movies and I have a tour in mind for this year, and I’m excited about that. For a sequel, I feel like this is a TV show and we got really lucky with having the material to make one movie and to do another one I feel like it takes away the reality of it all. And that was the point of this. Lucas touched on this a little bit, but people who are in normal high schools and stuff look at this and see a blonde wig and all that and they say, ‘That’s not real, and it is not reality,’ which is completely true. You’re not going to be able to live that life, and I can’t live that life forever. It was very clever the way we revealed the Hannah Montana secret, but didn’t make the show completely unrealistic and not be able to come back to the show, because we are continuing to do season three, and we all wish to do a season four. I would love to do that if the time is right and if that’s what everyone agrees on. So I don’t know if I would do another film, but I would love to do another season. I think that would be what we would all agree on.”

Miley, what is the biggest misconception about you?

Miley Cyrus: “I get a lot of those, I tell ya! I feel like a lot of people, where you’re from, you hear them all the time and you say they’re so grateful for their fans and they are so happy to be doing what they do and they love it. But there’s a difference between loving your job and living only for your job. And I think people always will say I am overworking and I am over-exposed and that’s what I want is all the attention. That’s not. What I love is the art of it all. And that’s why I always say I want to go off and do other things at some point when the time is right. My dad’s taught me that it’s all about the time. If the time isn’t right, nothing is going to fall into place. [Looking at her dad] I do listen to you every once in a while! So I feel like once the time is right, I’ll be able to do those things. And I just want people to realize that I really am grateful for what I do and I really do care about the fans. And I can’t help if there are 40 photographers outside my house. I try to keep my life as private as I can, but I definitely don’t do what I do for the attention because if I knew coming into that I would have all those people outside my house, I might have given myself a second thought.”

Miley, being a role model, is that something you wish you could divorce from what you do? What is your comfort level with being a powerful role model?

Miley Cyrus: “For me, I find there are two different things. If you look at me as a role model, I agree with it. If you look at me as an idol, I don’t because an idol for me is someone that you want to replicate. You want to be them and I don’t wish that on anyone to lose what they have personally, because that’s when your spark is lost. What I think people like about me and the way they relate to me is because I don’t try to change and I haven’t let what I do for a living become my life and completely affect me. And what I do personally in my life is not necessarily to be reported, but it doesn’t mean it’s not going to be. I’m going to make mistakes, and I would not trade that for anything because I always say the minute you stop making mistakes is the minute you stop learning. And if I ever stop doing that, we are all in trouble because that’s what life is all about. I never want to disappoint people and my decisions sometimes not only disappoint other people, but disappoint myself as well. But there are times that I am going to do that and if I don’t then all of a sudden I’m not real, and then you really can’t look up to me.”

Jason Earles: “I also think that it’s unfair to expect a 16 year old to raise your kids. So while she does occasionally make mistakes, that’s a good opportunity for parents to educate their kids about maybe different decisions that they can make. So while you can look at her and look up to her and there are things that are very aspirational about her, anybody who thinks that she 100% of the time should be the shining example for your kid, you are sort of misleading yourself as a parent.”

Emily Osment, Miley Cyrus in Hannah Montana the Movie

Emily Osment and Miley Cyrus in ‘Hannah Montana the Movie.’

© Disney Enterprises, Inc

Hannah Montana the Movie Press Conference – Miley Cyrus, Emily Osment, Lucas Till, Jason Earles and Billy Ray Cyrus

Do you ever feel like you need to give yourself a break, like go away and go back to Tennessee like your character does?

Miley Cyrus: “I wish I had more time to. That was the longest I was in Tennessee since I left, and it was awesome. I really hope that I can move back there at some point because that’s what I want. I just want a nice house there, where can I really escape. It was great. As much as I worked and at times Peter would say, ‘Can’t you just stay in Nashville for a little while and not be working on the weekends?’ And there were times for three or four weeks just straight I was just in Nashville, and it really made me miss home. So I hope I can go back at some point, for sure.”

Lucas, what was your screen test like with Miley?

Lucas Till: “I remember when I first found out I was going out to LA to screen test. And I was so nervous that I didn’t eat for a freaking week beforehand. I was expecting a little more of a different attitude, let’s just say that, from Miley. And she walked in, and she was just a normal girl.”

Miley Cyrus: “From me? I am the coolest!”

Lucas Till: “I know!”

Miley Cyrus: “Leave me alone!”

Lucas Till: “But she was just a normal, sweet girl, and it made it that much easier.”

Miley Cyrus: “I was on my best behavior. I was doing all of my commenting on my texts to my mom and I believe that I said, ‘He is hot! We should pick him!’ Another one of the guys that came in was a friend of mine and I was just looking at him, thinking, ‘I love you so much but no, because that is awkward, because you’re my friend.’ I worked with him on Big Fish when I was eight years old, so it was just weird. [Totally sarcastically] Lucas was an okay looking guy. We thought maybe with some hair and makeup and what CGI can do, it will work. And he was a good actor. If we needed the other guy to come in and do voiceover for him, we thought that would work too. It was awesome. We really worked it together, and Peter [Chelsom] is an amazing editor. So it’s really come together!”

Miley, do you ever wish that you could have that persona like Hannah Montana has where you could be completely away from the paparazzi and be Miley Cyrus, just like Miley Stewart?

Miley Cyrus: “I think that would be fun every once in a while. But for me, just being myself is what I love. And if I ever had to change and become someone else to live this life, I probably would want to go home and just stay home. Because I just feel like when you love what your job is — this is so much more than a job for me, it really is my life, but it’s not everything I eat, sleep and breathe. I love it and when I’m working it’s the best thing ever, and music is my number one passion, and I love making movies. But you can’t let it completely control you because otherwise you are just a puppet on strings and you become something that – you don’t have any of that reality anymore. If Peter would’ve asked me to play Miley, I probably would’ve said, ‘Who is that?’ If you had that real persona, you don’t know who you are anymore. So it’s just about still knowing who you are.”

Miley, do you have a positive saying or quote that your dad told you that motivates and inspires you? And also do you give back to any type of charitable organizations?

Miley Cyrus: “My dad always said, ‘A trying time is no time to quit trying,’ so I think that’s deep. He did not make it up; it was on a church sign at home. I would love to give him credit. But he told me about it, so it’s still good. So thank you, First Baptist or whoever you are, so that’s a good quote to remember.”

“A charity that I do – my granddad died, actually this is the third year [on the 22nd], so that was a hard day. He was like my best friend. So I have a foundation called the Pappy Cyrus Foundation, which is my granddad. It’s everything we did from City of Hope. We are working with all kinds of different people. We actually did a couple of trips back and forth to the White House. That’s one of the reasons I was at the inauguration was we want all of America to get involved, because it’s something that is so important. We deal with homeless shelters. When I was on tour in 2007, my best friend died of cystic fibrosis and it was right after my granddad had died. And I just had a really hard time with cancers and other kinds of stuff. So that’s mostly to a work with. Then I did a tour with the Jonas Brothers and we ended up raising $2.5 million for City of Hope and that all went to cures, not just to kids personally, but to cures and studies. It was really amazing watching the process. We got to go to the hospitals and watch them do all of these crazy things. Literally, we were sitting there looking at live cells being placed and watching this. It was amazing. It was just one of the coolest experiences, so that’s who I work with.”

http://movies.about.com/od/hannahmontanathemovie/a/miley-cyrus_2.htm

April 13, 2009 - Posted by | 1

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, Great post, I like Miley Cyrus a lot, Thanks for giving her review.

    Comment by Stage66 | April 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

