Neurologist

what happens around us is here

Mia Wasikowska Talks About ‘Alice in Wonderland’

Mia Wasikowska as Alice in 'Alice in Wonderland.'

Mia Wasikowska as Alice in ‘Alice in Wonderland.’

© Walt Disney Pictures

You probably don’t know her name now, but once Alice in Wonderland hits theaters, chances are you’ll never forget Mia Wasikowska. The 20 year old Australian actress plays the 19 year old Alice in Tim Burton’s whimsical PG take on the classic Lewis Carroll story, and it’s an older Alice than we’re accustomed to. Being that same age, Wasikowska could relate to Alice as a young woman on the verge of adulthood and felt a real connection to the role.

After seeing hundreds of potential Alices, director Burton also believed Wasikowska connected with his Alice and cast her in the much sought after role. “I just liked her quality,” said director Burton. “I always like it when I sense people have that old-soul quality to them. Because you’re witnessing this whole thing through her eyes, it needed somebody who can subtly portray that.”

And Wasikowska earned high praise from her veteran co-star Johnny Depp. “Mia’s incredible,”said Depp. “She’s like this wonderful little being from another planet. For me, it was great working with Mia who is beautiful, wonderful, sweet—the perfect Alice.”

In LA at a press conference to support the film, Wasikowska talked about the appeal of being ‘Alice.’

Alice in Wonderland Press Conference – Mia Wasikowska, ‘Alice Kingsleigh’

On Understanding and Relating to Alice:

Mia Wasikowska: “I don’t know. I think that Alice at this time in the story, at this time in her life, that a lot of people experience something that she’s going through. She’s this kind of uncomfortable or just discomfort in your skin and in who you are. She just sort of has this awkwardness about her I think a lot of people really go through in their life. That was something that I understood. And then ultimately her story is her kind of [coming] back to when she’s just a young girl. She was very excited, very sure of what she was doing.”

On Working with Tim Burton:

Mia Wasikowska: “It was pretty cool. I mean, I’ve loved his films for such a long time so then the coolest part was actually seeing from the beginnings. I always just see the end of things, so just to see the whole process was really amazing. Also, just Tim’s a really trusting director so from the minute that he casts you, you just know you have a lot of trust and freedom.”

On Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland:

Mia Wasikowska: “I read the books when I was about 8 or 9, and then I read them again before we started filming and saw it as an older person, saw a whole other side that I didn’t really catch as a kid. I think it’s amazing because it kind of constantly reveals itself to you in different ways and [the story] becomes evident. I’m sure as a kid I saw something else that I didn’t get as an adult, and there were parts that I would have liked as a kid that I didn’t miss as an older person.”

March 16, 2010 - Posted by | 1

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

